Visits 2010 & 2011 DVD, by Austen Redman
Remaining copies of the DVD, containing the videos first shown at the 2011 & 2012 AGMs will be made available on the coach during visits, price £6.
Contents of the DVD:
VISITS 2010 Running time approx. 25 minutes.
York Rivers & Bridges
Burnby Hall Gardens - Brockfield Hall
Helmsley Walled Garden - Duncombe Park
All Saints' - Silkstone Wentworth Castle
Haworth - Oakwell Hall
Kilburn - Thorpe Perrow Arboretum
Video and stills by Austen Redman with additional stills by Chris Mead. Music performed by Julian Savory.
VISITS 2011 Running time approx. 27 minutes.
Rievaulx Terrace - Nunnington Hall
Ampleforth Abbey - Hovingham
Brigg - Scawby
Video and stills by Austen Redman. Music performed by Julian Savory.
VISITS 2006 to 2009 Running time approx. 10 minutes.
Home Farm, Hartforth
Video and stills by Austen Redman. Music by Corel.
Price: £6.00+P&P. In stock.
The English Benedictine Priory fled Dieulouard in Lorraine and settled at Ampleforth in 1802 into a Georgian house to the NE of the church. The first school building is of 1861 by Charles Hanson, the monastery of 1894-8 by Bernard Smith. The New Church is by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, begun in 1922 and completed in 1961, with its ... (read more...)
Brigg is a small market town � though near to us, perhaps not many will have explored it. The town grew because of its geographical position � at an ancient crossing of the River Ancholme; important prehistoric timber remains have been found, including boats. The town today owes its shape to the late 18th and early 19th centuries, with ... (read more...)
Designed by Sir John Vanburgh in 1699 for Charles Howard, the 3rd Earl of Carlisle, Castle Howard is one of the grandest Baroque houses in Britain. At the centre of the house is a double height hall surmounted with a dome; the dome and ceiling paintings were badly damaged by a fire in 1940, which destroyed much of the ... (read more...)
Extensively adapted in the twentieth century as a cinema and dance hall, Fairfax House was saved from decay and returned to its former glory by York Civic Trust in 1982-84. One of the finest townhouses in the country, it has splendid Georgian (John Carr) plasterwork and woodwork, and a collection of furniture, clocks, paintings and porcelain, including the Noel ... (read more...)
Hovingham has the unique distinction of being approached through a riding school before the front door is reached through a series of vaulted halls intended as stables. This eccentric arrangement was the brainchild of Thomas Worsley, Surveyor General and amateur architect, who constructed the east and north ranges 1750 � 1760; the south range was never built. Worsley had ... (read more...)
The building's sober facade hides one of the most fascinating interiors in the city; and a story of wealth, tragedy and high art. The wealth belonged to the Maister family. The Maisters were one of a number of merchant families who lived on Hull's High Street and traded with ports around the North Sea and Baltic. The family originated ... (read more...)
The Abbey was founded as an Augustinian priory in the late 12th century. The iconic West Front of the late 13th century church survives. Inside the house the medieval cloisters, Chapter House (now the Chapel) and a collection of medieval stone carvings and manuscripts evoke the Abbey's early history. In 1539 custody of the house was handed over to ... (read more...)
Nunnington Hall occupies a tranquil setting on the banks of the River Rye. The owners were the Grahams, Viscounts Preston until the 19th century. The house is mainly of two periods: the west side is late 16th century (with mullioned windows and a jumble of chimneys and gables); the south side is 1680 � added by Richard Graham, first ... (read more...)
Created in 1758, this is really part of the landscaping of Duncombe Park. The terrace is wide and gently curving, with attractively placed groups of trees and ever-changing views down towards the River Rye, including views of Rievaulx Abbey. At either end of the terrace is a temple, one Ionic in style and the other Doric. The Ionic temple ... (read more...)
Scawby Hall was the home of the Nelthorpes; their crest, a dagger motif, can be found in various places, including on the rain water heads. The house was started in 1603; there have been many additions and extensions, including the crenellation and re-fenestration of the late 18th century. The chimney stacks and steeply pitched and gabled roof are dominating ... (read more...)
The Egertons of Tatton were a junior branch of the family descended from Sir Thomas Egerton, Privy Counsellor to Elizabeth I. Their first recorded house at Tatton was built for John Egerton and completed by 1716. The long straight avenue from Knutsford may also be of this date. In about 1760 Samuel Egerton planned flanking wings but only that ... (read more...)