Georgian Society for East Yorkshire

Restoration of Charterhouse Chimneys Nears Completion

Engraving of the Charterhouse, Hull.

Engraving of the Charterhouse, Hull.

Eighteenth century engraving of the showing the building as reconstructed by Rev John Bourne in 1780.

Monday, 27th July 2015

Hull's Charterhouse at first glance appears to have changed little since its reconstruction by the Rev John Bourne in 1780. The buildings of this charitable institution are a surprisingly picturesque enclave in the industrial area north of the city centre. The central block of the building was chosen by Francis Johnson as the letterhead for the Georgian Society for East Yorkshire which may be seen at the top of these web pages.

In the nineteenth century one change was made which did much to alter the character of the main block. The chimneys were rebuilt in shiny red industrial brick and their height was increased. Some chimneys appear to have been further reconstructed in the twentieth century using modern facing bricks. The effect of these works, in addition to introducing unpleasant materials to the building, has been to diminish the importance of the central cupola.

The present Master of Charterhouse, Rev Stephen Deas, decided that it would be possible to return the chimneys to their original height using the evidence of contemporary illustrations. Work, due to be completed this summer, has seen the Victorian and modern brick removed and new low stacks constructed to the original Georgian pattern using reclaimed materials. A total of sixteen stacks will be rebuilt in total.

In this section