Ampleforth and Hovingham
Saturday, 18th June 2011
Despite a gloomy weather forecast the Society had an enjoyable visit to Ampleforth and Hovingham. With over fifty members attending this was our most popular visit of the year.
At Ampleforth we saw Giles Gilbert Scott's twentieth century Abbey with its woodwork by the "Mouseman" Thompson workshop.
At Hovingham we saw both the Hall with its horse centred planning, and the church with its Anglo-Saxon cross fragments.
The church designed by Rhode Hawkins in 1860 adjoins the Anglo-Saxon west tower. At the east end of the south aisle is a remarkable Anglo-Saxon slab, perhaps an altar frontal, with small figures under arches, probably dating from c800. The Worsleys are commemorated by a series of architectural, rather than sculptural, monuments. http://www.hovingham.org.uk/allsaintsChurch.htm (read more...)
The English Benedictine Priory fled Dieulouard in Lorraine and settled at Ampleforth in 1802 into a Georgian house to the NE of the church. The first school building is of 1861 by Charles Hanson, the monastery of 1894-8 by Bernard Smith. The New Church is by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, begun in 1922 and completed in 1961, with its ... (read more...)
Hovingham has the unique distinction of being approached through a riding school before the front door is reached through a series of vaulted halls intended as stables. This eccentric arrangement was the brainchild of Thomas Worsley, Surveyor General and amateur architect, who constructed the east and north ranges 1750 � 1760; the south range was never built. Worsley had ... (read more...)